Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 12 of 12

Baird Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B16
Scope and Contents Collection includes papers, 1656-1848, concerning Essex County, Va. including land records and wills, many of which relate to the Rowzee family. Many of the records date from the seventeenth century. The collection also includes correspondence, 1830-1920, of members of the Baird family including letters, 1859-1911, of Edward R. Baird while attending the University of Virginia, serving in Pickett's Division and as superintendent of schools in Essex County. There are...
Dates: 1656-1922; Majority of material found in 1656-1848
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Dixon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 D6
Scope and Contents The John Dixon Papers include letters, legal papers, farm and personal accounts, 1760-1829 of John Dixon, Jr. (1777-1830) of "Airville" Gloucester County, Virginia. Letters include those from Charles H. Braxton of "Oak Spring," Burwell Bassett of Williamsburg, Richard Jones, John Nicholson, John Peyton, and James and Samuel Stubbs of Gloucester County. The collection also includes a letter, 22 October 1827, of Burwell Bassett and a letter, 1826, of John Mercer Patton (1796-1858)....
Dates: 1729-1829
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Jones Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 J71
Scope and Contents Papers, 1826-1916, of the Jones family of "Land's End," Gloucester County, Virginia, and related families of Curtis, Taliaferro, Page and Harrison. Includes correspondence, genealogical notes, obituaries, legal files, real estate material, notes concerning Land's End, Petsworth Parish (Gloucester County), Yorktown, and the homes of the Cringan family and the Mackenzie family, and Bible records of the Jones and Fauntleroy families.The first two accessions, which compose the bulk...
Dates: 1826-1916
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

The Reverend Henry Gardiner Lane Memorial Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 L24
Scope and Contents Correspondence, chiefly 1850-1900, of members of the family of Henry Gardiner Lane, an Episcopal clergyman of Mathews and Gloucester counties, Va. Correspondents include members of the Harrison, Randolph, and Lane families of Mathews and Gloucester counties, Va. Included are autograph and composition books, wills, certificates of indenture, Civil War pardon, Confederate bonds and almanacs. See Also: Southern Women and their Families in the 19th Century Papers and Diaries Series C...
Dates: 1799-1938
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Tayloe Perrin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 P42
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1770-1931, of the Perrin family of Gloucester County, Va. Chiefly the diaries and writings of John Tayloe Perrin. Includes farm books, scrapbooks, accounts, wills, and articles by Perrin.

Dates: 1770-1931
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William K. Perrin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 95 P42
Scope and Contents Business letters, 1833-1839, to Major William K. Perrin and 1855, 1860, to his son-in-law Wyndham Kemp, both of Gloucester County, Virginia from Perrin's step-son Robert W. Nicolson in Uniontown, Perry County, Alabama, about the management of a cotton plantation. Letters mention purchasing land, growing and selling cotton management of slaves, legal and banking matters and uprising of the Creek Indians. Papers, 1800-1855 and n.d., relating to the hiring out and management of slaves of...
Dates: 1732-1902; Majority of material found in 1820-1858
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Richard Billups Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B49
Scope and Contents

Business, military and legal papers, chiefly 1774-1822, of Richard Billups of Mathews and Gloucester Counties, Virginia. Papers include accounts, land records, and correspondence and some concern shipbuilding. Includes minutes, 1842, of a temperance meeting and Methodist church records.

Dates: 1705-1857; Majority of material found in 1774-1822
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Roane Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1975.31
Scope and Contents

Photographs, postcards, election material and family material of the Roane Family of Gloucester County, Virginia.  Collection centers on the Roane Family, but also has material on Gloucester, Virginia organizations such as the Historical Society and Virginia organizations, such as the Clerk of Courts Association, and regional organizations, such as the Rotary Club.

Dates: 1880-1973; Majority of material found in 1950's
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John P. Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 82 T14
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1846-1849, written to John P. Taliaferro, while a student at the College of William and Mary from his guardian, George B. Taliaferro of Baltimore, Md. and from William Lawson Fauntleroy and other friends and relatives. The letters are primarily concerned with John's future plans, the cost of his education, the activities of his friends, and the affairs of his relatives in Gloucester county, Va. Also included are three 1834 orders of the York County, Va. court.

Dates: 1846-1849
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates: 1811-1954
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Throckmorton Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 T41
Scope and Contents

Will, 5 May 1787, of Mordecai Throckmorton of Norfolk, Va.; and will, 17 June 1817, of Thomas Throckmorton of Gloucester County, Va.

Dates: 1787, 1817
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Virginia Counties Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents

Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.

Dates: 1600-2000; Majority of material found in 1730-1890
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Legal documents X
  • Subject: Gloucester County (Va.)--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 10
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 10
Financial records 7
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 4
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 4
∨ more
Photographs 4
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 4
Account books 3
Genealogy 3
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 3
Indentures 3
Manuscripts (document genre) 3
Minutes 3
Receipts (financial records) 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
Deeds 2
Diaries 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 2
Indians of North America--Virginia 2
Mathews County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Newspapers 2
Programs 2
Surveys (documents) 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Virginia--Maps 2
Virginia--Militia 2
Virginia--Religious history 2
Wills 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
Accounts 1
Advertising cards 1
African Americans--Medical care--Virginia 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Amelia County (Va.)--History 1
Amherst County (Va.)--History 1
Anti-slavery movements 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Bedford County (Va.)--History 1
Berkeley County (W.Va.)--History 1
Bible records 1
Booklets 1
Botetourt County (Va.)--History 1
Broadsides 1
Brunswick County (Va.)--History 1
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 1
Campbell County (Va.)--History 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History 1
Catalogs 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History 1
Chesterfield County (Va.)--History 1
Church records and registers--Virginia 1
Cigars--History 1
Circulars (fliers) 1
Clarke County (Va.)--History 1
Clergy 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Pickett's Division 1
County clerks--Virginia 1
County clerks--Virginia--Gloucester County 1
Creek Indians 1
Criss Cross House (New Kent County, Va.) 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History 1
Daybooks 1
Deeds--Virginia 1
Dinwiddie County (Va.)--History 1
Dunmore County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Education--Virginia--Essex County--History 1
Education--Virginia--History 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 1
Elizabeth City County (Va.)--History 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--17th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Fairfax County (Va.)--History 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--History 1
Fayette County (W. Va.)--History 1
Fluvanna County (Va.)--History 1
Franklin County (Va.)--History 1
Frederick County (Va.)--History 1
Genealogical tables 1
General stores--Virginia 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--Pictorial works. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Social life and customs 1
Goochland County (Va.)--History 1
Grain--Milling--Virginia 1
Greenbrier County (Va.)--History 1
Halifax County (Va.)--History 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
Perrin family 2
Taliaferro family 2
Taliaferro family. 2
Baird family 1
Barron family 1
∨ more
Bassett, Burwell, 1764-1841 1
Billups, Richard 1
Booth family 1
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
Cringan family 1
Curtis family 1
Dixon family 1
Dixon, Elizabeth Peyton 1
Dixon, John 1
Dixon, John, d. 1788 1
Dixon, William M 1
Fauntleroy family 1
Fauntleroy, William Lawson 1
Foster, Adam 1
Harrison family 1
Hicks family 1
Hunter family 1
Hunter, R. M. T. (Robert Mercer Taliaferro), 1809-1887 1
Jones family 1
Jones, Mary Fauntleroy 1
Jones, Mary Throckmorton 1
Jones, Richard P. 1
Jones, Warner Throckmorton 1
Kemp, Wyndham 1
Langborn, William 1
Longwood University 1
Mackenzie family 1
Nicolson, Robert W. 1
Page family 1
Patton, John Mercer, 1796-1858 1
Perrin, John Taloe 1
Perrin, William K. 1
Roane family 1
Rotary Club 1
Rowzee family 1
Sheldon family 1
Sinclair family 1
Taliaferro, George 1
Taliaferro, John P., 1828-1869 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Throckmorton family 1
Tidewater Fox Hunters Association 1
Todd family 1
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 1
Virginia House of Delegates 1
Virginia. General Court 1
Washington family 1
Washington, Lawrence, 1791-1875 1
Whiting family 1
Whittle (Bishop) 1
+ ∧ less